Day 2: November 2

My blog name came from a joke.

My newspaper students are such champs… they were the first of 3 groups of students to want to write an advice column, which I’ve not so secretly been hoping to put in the paper since I started advising. (Today, incidentally, we released our November issue! Check it out: http://brd.hilliardschools.org/the-reporter/electronic-editions.) To promote it, the kids decided to make some videos to show over the school announcements – in the clips, kids were asking “Joey Jaguar,” a generic androgynous persona, for help with their various problems (so he/she/shim could give satirical advice). And whenever someone gets to wear the mascot suit, hi-jinx follow. Anyway, one of their ideas was to have a kid ask Joey what to do when a teacher tries too hard to be cool and/or be friends with students. Obviously, I was to be that teacher. And in the video, I am to try to say the kids’ slang but fail epically… instead of “hashtag yolo,” some ridiculous Twitter reference coined thanks to a Canadian rapper (ha – I know) who seems to enjoy reminding us of our impending deaths, I am to say “slashtag polo” along with several other stupid things. Here are my other favorites:

  • “What’s the 311, guys?”
  • “Loyo!”
  • “Hey guys!” (said while making the asinine sideways peace sign and posing with hand on hip – when did the high school girl posing in a pic like Paris Hilton become so prevalent?)*

*Oops, I just referred to Paris Hilton. She might be irrelevant now. So I pretty much am that uncool teacher. But it’s OK. Cause I’m 31. (Yeah, it’s a theme.)

I’ve been told that I laugh so loud during 5th period (newspaper class) that you can hear me through the cinder block wall.

Today was a tiring school day but one that ended a week during which I actually at one point spontaneously thought, “I have the best job in the best school, ever.”

About slashtagpolo

Nicole. Person. Mom. Teacher. Whatever.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

